In final part of our 3 part series on SATs, our focus in Year 6.

If your child is completing KS2 SATs in 2018, read on for the updated information

In the the recent years, the SATs papers have been drastically altered to reflect the changes in the national curriculum. The new style of SATs is more challenging and more precise than previous years’ tests. A completely new SATs marking scheme and grading system has also been introduced which has replaced national curriculum levels used before. As a result, the new SATs are more complex and harder than ever.

At the end of Year 6, children complete tests in:

  • Reading
  • Maths
  • Spelling, punctuation and grammar

All of these tests are set and marked by examiners outside of school. The results passed back to school and are then used to measure the performance of the school (such as reporting to Ofsted and published league tables). The SATs scores will be used alongside a teacher assessment to judge the attainment of Y6 students during their years of Primary Education. The SATs do use an age-standardizing score system to take into account the differences in development between the oldest and youngest pupils in the year group. The SATs results are highly important and often Secondary Schools use performance in the SATs to set Y7 students into groups according to their ability.

The Year 6 KS2 SATs week will begin on 14th May 2018.

The timetable will be as follows:

Monday 14 May 2018

English grammar, punctuation and spelling Paper 1: questions

English grammar, punctuation and spelling Paper 2: spelling

Tuesday 15 May 2018

English reading

Wednesday 16 May 2018

Mathematics Paper 1: arithmetic

Mathematics Paper 2: reasoning

Thursday 17 May 2018

Mathematics Paper 3: reasoning

SATs marking

Previously SATs were marked with national curriculum levels (3-5) but these have been replaced with scaled scores.

This means that your child will be awarded a raw score (the number of marks they achieved) alongside their scaled score which decides if they have reached the expected standard according to the Department of Education.

‘NS’ means that they have not achieved the expected standard

‘AS’ means that the expected standard has been reached

The range of scores available for each KS2 test are between 80, the lowest, and 120, the highest. The expected standard is a scaled score of 100 more and as a result, if a child achieves 99 or less, they will not have reached the expected standard for the test.

The UK Department of Education expects 65% of Y6 children to attain the expected standard.

You can see examples of the tests your child will take at:

More details about the tests can also be found at: